Thursday, February 9, 2012

Q&A with debut author Bethany Ramos

Bethany Ramos is a chick lit author that is passionate about the fun, witty, and clever dynamic that can be found in a good chick lit novel. Her chick lit novel 5 Stages of Grief was published by Black Opal Books in 2011. She has also written a children’s book called Lions Can’t Eat Spaghetti that is under contract to be published through 4RV Publishing in 2015.

Bethany works full time as a freelance ghostwriter through, specializing in Internet marketing, social media marketing, and SEO. She also co-owns her own website with her husband at The Coffee Bump. Bethany can be reached for further information about her writing services at bethany_ramos83[at]yahoo[dot]com or follow her on Twitter.

Q.  What inspires your writing?

 A.  I would say that my writing is most inspired by my sense of humor. I love, love, love to laugh and be sarcastic, so I try to make sure that comes through in all that I write.

 Q.  What is your favorite thing about being an author?

 A.  I love the creative process. Most of the time, it is really scary, and halfway through a book, I think that it is total crap. But then I reread the final product and am normally really pleased with it. :-)

 Q.  What is the toughest part of being an author?

 A. The rejection! Now that I have one book under my belt, I've come to expect tons and tons and tons of rejection when looking for a literary agent or a publisher. And then when other people review your book… You have to be understanding and have a thick skin for sure.

 Q.  If you could not be author, what would you do/be?

 A. I love writing and creating, so I would probably stick with my day job, which is working as a freelance writer.

 Q.  What would the story of your life be entitled? 

A.  Hmm… How about: Push It Real Good – Why It Pays to Work Your Ass Off as an Author

 Q.  What is your favorite book of all time?

 A.  I actually don't have a favorite book because I love to read so much, but I am a big fan of Marian Keyes and Elin Hilderbrand. They both tell amazing stories that are difficult to put down.

 Q.  Which character from ANY book are you most like?

 A.  I love the wit, humor, and self-deprecating sarcasm of the main character Claire in Watermelon by Marian Keyes. She reminds me of myself.

Q.  What character from all of your book(s) are you most like?

 A. I have to say that my character Danielle in my book 5 Stages of Grief was most modeled after my life and my personal experiences when I was single and living in Denver. People who know me and read the book would probably see a lot of similarities.

 Q.  What is your favorite season?

A. This year it was winter! I was pregnant and constantly hot, so I was craving some cold weather in South Texas, which is pretty hard to come by.

 Q.  Tell me something funny that happened while on a book tour or while promoting your book(s).

 A. Well, my book 5 Stages of Grief draws on quite a few real life inspirations. A friend of mine picked up on the fact that I was poking fun at an old manager we used to have at the restaurant we worked at together. For a second, I was worried that the manager in question would be offended if they caught on to that, but I think it’s safe now…

 Q.  Are you working on something new?

 A.  Yup! I am currently looking for a literary agent for my second book Adventure to Love, a Bachelor meets Survivor dating reality TV story.

 Q.  Anything you want to say to followers of this blog or those that are just stopping by?

 A.  Thanks for taking the time to read this post! If you have any aspirations of being a writer, just keep at it. It takes lots of hard work and perseverance, but it really does pay off to stick with it. Good luck!

5 Stages of Grief

Book Description:  5 Stages of Grief 

September 12, 2011

Danielle thinks that the worst is behind her, but she couldn’t have been more wrong... As a beauty editor of Denver's hot new High Life magazine, Danielle Starkey didn’t have becoming a widow on her to-do list. Then nine months after her husband’s death, she discovers he booked a vacation with another woman. Suddenly, Danielle sees Adam’s death in a whole new light and has to get over it - for the second time. Hit with the truth when she least expects it, Danielle brings a fresh, funny, and honest approach to the grieving process as she struggles through online dating, stalking her dead husband’s mistress, and, hopefully, finding the man of her dreams. With her stubborn and sassy best friend April by her side. Danielle refuses to let sleeping dogs lie. Will she finally face the truth about herself and her marriage? Or will she succumb to one of the five stages of grief?

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love comments, so please leave some! If you are a new follower and have a blog yourself please let me know so I can follow you back! Have a great day!

Emily, AKA Mrs. Mommy Booknerd

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...