Sunday, January 24, 2021

#MMBBR #Showcase #WaterMemory by apyne0 via #Thomas&Mercer @MBeatie

 


A fast-paced, page-turning thriller that contemplates the consequences of motherhood, memory, and crime as a commodity.

Black ops specialist Aubrey Sentro may be one concussion away from death. But when pirates seize the cargo ship she’s on, she must decide whether to risk her life to save her fellow passengers.

Sentro’s training takes over, and she’s able to elude her captors, leaving bodies in her wake. But her problems are just getting started. Her memory lapses are getting more frequent, symptoms of serial-concussion syndrome.

As she plays a deadly game of cat and mouse with the pirates, she pushes herself to survive by focusing on thoughts of her children. She’s never told them what she really does for a living, and now she might not get the chance.

While her memories make her vulnerable, motherhood makes her dangerous.

Friday, January 22, 2021

#MMBBR #Showcase #TheConjureManDies by #RudolphFisher via @HarperFiction @Harper360

 

The very first detective novel written by an African American (the legendary Rudolph Fisher) featuring all Black characters is out now!

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++


A unique crime classic: the very first detective novel written by an African-American, set in 1930s New York with only Black characters.


When the body of N’Gana Frimbo, the African conjure-man, is discovered in his consultation room, Perry Dart, one of Harlem’s ten Black police detectives, is called in to investigate. Together with Dr Archer, a physician from across the street, Dart is determined to solve the baffling mystery, helped and hindered by Bubber Brown and Jinx Jenkins, local boys keen to clear themselves of suspicion of murder and undertake their own investigations.

The Conjure-Man Dies was the very first detective novel written by an African-American. A distinguished doctor and accomplished musician and dramatist, Rudolph Fisher was one of the principal writers of the Harlem Renaissance, but died in 1934 aged only 37. With a gripping plot and vividly drawn characters, Fisher’s witty novel is a remarkable time capsule of one of the most exciting eras in the history of Black fiction.

This crime classic is introduced by New York crime writer Stanley Ellin, and includes Rudolph Fisher’s last published story, “John Archer’s Nose.” in which Perry Dart and Dr Archer return to solve the case of a young man murdered in his own bed.


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++


I cannot wait to read this one! Grab your copy today!!!

#MMBBR #Showcase #Spin by @1pcornwell @MBeatie @AmazonPub

 

I am writing about the new book by New York Times bestselling author Patricia Cornwell, one of world’s most popular crime writers with more than 120 million copies of her books in print and available in more than 100 countries. Her award-winning series of novels featuring chief medical examiner Dr. Kay Scarpetta, who uses science to solve crimes, set the standard for the genre and paved the way for an explosion of entertainment featuring all things forensic across books, film, and TV.

 

Cornwell is trailblazing again, having taken the thriller genre to aerospace by setting her books at NASA. In order to do so, she put in an unparalleled level of research, as she gained insider access to one of the country’s most secret and impregnable institutions. She toured NASA facilities (as well as Sierra-Nevada Corporation and Blue Origin), learned to spacewalk, explored the training facilities used by Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin, and worked closely with a variety of NASA scientists and astronauts. She even became friends with astronaut Peggy A. Whitson.   

 

This video which will give you a sample of her experience:

Patricia Cornwell and her NASA research for her Captain Chase thrillers

 

Her new book, SPIN, the second in the series, will be published by Thomas & Mercer on January 12, 2021 and continues the story of Captain Calli Chase, a NASA test pilot, quantum physicist, and cybercrime investigator. Chase’s fearlessness, brilliant insights, and deep knowledge of cybertechnology and space science reflect Cornwell’s endeavor to ensure that even the most minute detail is current and accurate. 

 I cannot wait to dive into this book! Check it out now! 

#MMBBR #Review #DogsDogsDogsILoveThemAll by @Chad_Geran #ChildrensBooks @simonschuster

Dogs, Dogs, Dogs: I Love Them All: I Love Them AllDogs, Dogs, Dogs: I Love Them All: I Love Them All by Chad Geran
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I loved this sing songy board book with bright vibrant images. Kids and parents alike will love reading this adorable book out loud. Plus, I love all dogs too...all of them!!!! A must for all dog loving readers!

View all my reviews

Thursday, January 14, 2021

#MMBBR #Showcase #Widowish by @widowishwidow #LittleA

 


Melissa Gould’s uplifting and deeply moving memoir of grieving outside the box and the surprising nature of love.

When Melissa Gould's husband, Joel, was unexpectedly hospitalized, she could not imagine how her life was about to change. Overwhelmed as his condition tragically worsened, she had to believe that while Joel’s loss was permanent, so was their love.

Left to raise their young daughter on her own, and to act as if she could resume life without her beloved husband by her side, Melissa found that she didn’t fit the typical idea of widowhood or meet the expectations of mourning. She didn’t look like a widow or act like a widow, but she felt like one. Melissa was widowish.

Melissa’s personal journey through grief and beyond includes unlikely inspiration from an evangelical preacher, the calming presence of some Real Housewives, and the unexpected attention of a charismatic musician.

A modern take on loss, Widowish illuminates the twists of fate that break our world, the determination that keeps us moving forward, and the surprises in life we never see coming. 

Tuesday, January 12, 2021

#MMBBR #Review #MemoryLane by @sarabooks via @serialboxpub & #MPRMCommunications

Memory Lane

Memory Lane by Sara Shepard
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

#FirstLine - Testing?

This is an eight episode/chapter novella style story that takes us into the minds of a mother/daughter duo trying to take hold of the ghosts of the past in an unconventional way. It is a twisty, turny story that kept me on my toes. It was a super quick/easy read at 136 pages, but also because the story had a brisk pace and tension grew with each page. I was uneasy and wanted to know what was going to happen. I was driven to figure out what the heck was going on. It was one of those books I could not figure out, which I love. I was just burning through pages to find out. I hope this story continues because more could happen in this storyline. I highly recommend it for readers who want a quick, easy original and entertaining story to take your mind off of everything else going on!

View all my reviews

WHAT: Thriller phenom Sara Shepard, the mind behind Pretty Little Liars, is back with another captivating mystery. Coming to Serial Box in January, Memory Lane will keep you doubting the past as it explores the science of memory and the dangerous consequences that come with it. This audio series is the perfect pick for fans of PLL, Inception, and Blake Crouch’s Recursion


In Memory Lane, after Alex receives her mother Cassie’s implanted memories in a scientific study, she experiences events from her mother’s past…events Cassie claims never happened. When the memories reveal a murder Cassie witnessed decades before, Alex must rely on her unreliable mind to evade a killer determined to bury the truth—and both women along with it. 


WHO: Written by Sara Shepard (Pretty Little Liars, The Lying Game, The Perfectionists) with co-author Ellen Goodlett (the Rule duology). 


WHERE: The complete season of Memory Lane [8 episodes] will be available on all mobile devices on January 13. 


ABOUT SERIAL BOX:

Serial Box delivers premium audio and reading entertainment for an on-the-go audience that loves immersive storytelling. Serial Box is available on all mobile devices, and users can read or listen to each weekly installment, switching modes with just a click. Serial Box uses a collaborative writing process, bringing together award-winning and best-selling authors to create completely original stories as well as new content around some of fandom’s most popular characters. Serial Box’s best-selling titles include Ninth Step Station, Orphan Black: The Next Chapter, and The Vela. Based in New York, the company was founded by Molly Barton and Julian Yap. Follow Serial Box for updates on Twitter,  Instagram and Facebook. For more information, please visit https://www.serialbox.com/


Thursday, January 7, 2021

#MMBBR #Audiobook #Review #TheMoonlightChild by #KarenMcQuestion #5stars

The Moonlight ChildThe Moonlight Child by Karen McQuestion
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Audiobook review:
Wow, now this was a story. Heartbreaking and beautifully told. You cannot help but be swept up in this story. I was pulled in immediately, listening in one day! I loved the storyline, characters and sheer heart in this story. You will have your heartstrings tugged from start to finish. I smiled, cried and was moved beyond measure. This book showcases the evil sides of humans, but also the goodness and pureness of true acceptance and unwavering love. A must listen!!!! I highly recommend it for lovers of stories with great depth, richly fleshed out characters and a story you cannot stop listening to!!!

View all my reviews
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...