Thursday, April 13, 2017

#MMBBR #Review The Young Wives Club by @juliepens ‏@simonschuster ‏#FirstLine

The Young Wives Club: A Novel by [Pennell, Julie]

In Toulouse, Louisiana finding your one true love happens sometime around high school. If you’re lucky, he might be the man you thought he was. But as four friends are about to find out, not every girl has luck on her side in this charming debut novel perfect for fans of The Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood and Desperate Housewives. 

Laura Landry’s quarterback husband was her ticket out of Toulouse. But when a devastating football injury sidelines him, they’re forced to move back to the small town she was so desperate to leave. As Brian starts drinking instead of rehabbing his knee, Laura must reevaluate what her future looks like…and if it includes her husband.

For years, Madison Blanchette has been waiting for bad-boy musician Cash Romero to commit to her. When wealthy George Dubois asks her out, she figures she may as well wait in style. Life with George means weekend trips to New Orleans, gourmet meals, and expensive gifts. At first she loves how George’s affection sparks Cash’s jealousy, but when George proposes to Madison, she finds herself torn between two men…

All Claire Thibodeaux wants is to be the perfect wife and mother. If she can do everything right she won’t end up like her mom, a divorced, single parent trying to make ends meet. But when Claire’s husband Gavin, a well-respected local pastor, starts spending late nights at work and less time in their bed, she can’t help but fear that history is about to repeat itself…

Gabrielle Vaughn never thought she’d end up with someone like her fiancé. The son of a prominent congressman, Tony Ford is completely out of her league—which is why she lied to him about everything from having a college degree to the dark truth about her family. She knows she has to come clean, but how do you tell the love of your life that your entire relationship is a lie?

As these young wives come together to help each other through life, love, and heartbreak, they discover that there are no easy answers when it comes to matters of the heart.


THE YOUNG WIVES CLUB by Julie Pennell
Emily Bestler Books/Atria Books Paperback | ISBN: 9781501136467 | On sale: February 14, 2017 | 320 pages | $16.00

FIND JULIE ONLINE:
Twitter: @juliepens
Instagram: @juliepens


#FirstLine ~ Prologue:  Two thousand , one hundred and fifty-four people live in my town.

This book was a delightful debut.  I always love when I read a new author and fall in love...it makes me so hopeful for the future of literature.  There is so much talent out there and I am glad these new writers are getting these stories out and sharing them with the world.  Pennell is a writer to watch.  I have a feeling we will be seeing more brilliant books from this new and fresh voice in literature.  The Young Wives Club is a tender story that has interesting characters and dialogue that made me both smile and feel.  It is one of those books you feel good after you finish and I think we need those stories in this world.  This is a great book for spring or summer and a great book to share with your book club.  I really enjoyed it and this you will too!

Julie Pennell
ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Julie Pennell grew up in Shreveport, Louisiana, where she ate her weight in crawfish, used the word “y’all” a lot, and wrote a weekly “Teen Scene” column for the local paper. After graduating from college, she moved to New York to work at Seventeen magazine and later Alloy Entertainment as a digital editor. She lives in New York City with her husband and is a regular contributor to Teen Vogue, TODAY.com, and The NestThe Young Wives Club is her first novel.







ORDER:
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...