Sunday, April 23, 2017

#MMBBR #Review The Odds of You and Me by @ceciliagalante5 #FirstLine @Morrow_PB


In the vein of Meg Donohue and Sarah Jio, Cecilia Galante’s second novel delivers the powerful story of one young woman who’s faced with an impossible choice—one that could have her making the biggest mistake of her life.
Thirteen days. That’s all Bernadette, “Bird,” Sincavage has left to go until she’s done with her probation and can be free again. Free from making payments to the supermarket she wrote bad checks to. Free from living at home with her overzealous mother who’s constantly nagging her about attending church again. Free to give her four-year-old son, Angus, the normal life he deserves. Her impending freedom and move to Moon Lake, where she’s plunked down a deposit on a brand new apartment, is so close she can almost taste it. What trouble could she possibly get into in just thirteen days?
But trouble does follow in the form of James Rittenhouse—someone she worked with a few years ago. At first, Bird is stunned to see James make the evening news when he’s arrested for assaulting someone in a local bar. But that’s nothing compared to the shock she gets when she discovers James hiding out in an abandoned church choir loft. Somehow he escaped police custody, broke his leg, and got his hand on a gun, which he’s now pointing at her.
Although Bird doesn’t tell anyone she saw James, there’s no way she’s helping him. She can’t screw up her probation or her second chance for a new future. And she has her son’s welfare to think about. Still. If only she could stop thinking about the terrified look in James’ eyes and the fact that he’s hurt. If only she could forget that once, long ago, James helped her out, and she owes him a debt like no other. 
Will Bird jeopardize her future for someone who helped her out in the past? A past that holds secrets she’s not quite sure she’s ready to face? Or will she turn a blind eye and learn to live with the consequences?


#FirstLine ~ "Bird?" Mrs. Ross, all blond hair and wide, kohl-rimmed eyes, beckons from inside the probation office.  

This book was wonderful.  I enjoyed it cover to cover, as it was richly written with characters that I really enjoyed.  It was when I read the book when I really fell in love with Galante.  The Odds of You and Me won me over in the same ways that The Invisibles did.  The story is about real people, who face challenges and come out better in the end.  They are heart and soul on the pages of the book.  They also leave a lasting impression.  I now make sure to include first lines from books in my reviews because of The Invisibles.   Galante is a talent and her writing is real, with fleshed out characters and story lines that are crisp, original and thought provoking.  I highly recommend any and all of her books.  They are also perfect for book clubs and I promise you great conversation when discussing Galante's hard-to-put-down books!


Cecilia Galante

Cecilia Galante is the author of several middle grade, young adult and adult novels. She also teaches 8th grade English at Wyoming Seminary Prep School, and teaches creative writing in the MFA program at Wilkes University.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...