Monday, September 5, 2016

#MMBBR #Review #FirstLine Love Literary Style by @GillespieKarin

Love Literary Style by [Gillespie, Karin]The hilarious Karin Gillespie returns with her “flair for timing and a cheeky Southern turn of phrase.” (Booklist) 
“Witty and smart, entertaining and lyrical, in Love Literary Style author Karin Gillespie explores all facets of love and language through her evocative characters and charmingly delicious plot. Aaron and Laurie’s story is the intellectual’s romantic comedy, an uproariously winning tale that is sure to delight a wide range of readers, but particularly those who desire a book with heart.” —Laura Spinella, bestselling author of Ghost Gifts
“Love Literary Style is an intelligently written novel packed with Southern wit.  This is a story book clubs will devour. It’s warmly humorous, thought-provoking and shines with emotional depth.” –Amy Avanzino, author of Wake-Up Call and From the Sideline 
“Cheeky and charming, Gillespie’s sweet, outlandish fable is as much a sendup of books, authors, and the publishing industry as it is a love letter to it all. Like the Pink Lady cocktails stodgy Aaron can’t help but adore, Love Literary Style is a frothy and irresistible concoction–that packs a surprising punch.” –Phoebe Fox, author of The Breakup Doctor series 
“Funny, empathetic, and wise. Gillespie shines a light into dark corners we need to examine, but somehow manages to entertain us at the same time. A fantastic read.” – Susan M. Boyer, USA Today Bestselling Author of Lowcountry Book Club (on Girl Meets Class) 
They say opposites attract, and what could be more opposite than a stuffy literary writer falling for a self-published romance writer? 
Novelist Aaron Mite meets Laurie Lee at a writers’ colony and mistakenly believes her to be a renowned writer of important fiction. When he discovers she’s a self-published romance author, he’s already fallen in love with her. 
Aaron thinks genre fiction is an affront to the fiction-writing craft. He often quotes the essayist, Arthur Krystal who says literary fiction “melts the frozen sea inside of us.” Ironically Aaron doesn’t seem to realize that he’s emotionally frozen. The vivacious Laurie, lover of flamingo-patterned attire and all things hot pink, is the one person who might be capable of melting him.   
Karin GillespieIn the tradition of The Rosie Project, Love Literary Style is a sparkling romantic comedy which pokes fun at the divide between low and high brow fiction. 
Related subjects include: chick lit, women’s fiction, humor, humorous fiction, Southern humor, Southern living, friendship.
Books by Karin Gillespie: 
·       GIRL MEETS CLASS, A Novel
·       LOVE LITERARY STYLE, A Novel 
The Bottom Dollar Girls Series:
·       BET YOUR BOTTOM DOLLAR (#1)
·       A DOLLAR SHORT (#2)
·       DOLLAR DAZE (#3) 
Part of the Henery Press Chick Lit Collection, if you like one, you'll probably like them all...






#FirstLine ~ It was too bad that, as a collage professor, Aaron Mite was expected to be approachable. 


Karin Gillespie is a Midwestern girl who, after forty years in Georgia, is still trying to get the hang of being Southern. 

She's the author of the Bottom Dollar Girl series and her most recent novel is Girl Meets Class which asks the question, "What happens when a spoiled Southern belle takes a job teaching at an inner-city high school?

The novel is partially based on her experiences teaching for ten years at a very tough public high school. 


REVIEWS:

 “A winner of a first novel, filled with southern-style zingers and funny folks.” Kirkus (starred review)
“Each character is lovingly crafted in Gillespie’s hilarious, heartwarming, and often irreverent look at senior living in small-town America.”— Booklist (starred review)
“It takes talent to sustain this level of comic writing for over 300 pages. Gillespie keeps the ball in the air, spinning madly, until the end.”—-Boston Globe
A sweet and amusing tale of romance and lust for the older crowd.—Kirkus
“Never a dull moment…. this fast-paced screamer of a romance begs a giggle, if not a guffaw. —Booklist
“…Laugh-out antics…This fast-paced read is certain to please women’s fiction fans of all ages.”—-Romantic Times Top Pick
As tart and delectable as lemon meringue pie… a pure delight!”–Jennifer Weiner
“A hilarious saga of loss, sisterhood and the will to survive, even in Cayboo Creek.”–The Tucson Citizen 
“Provides laughs as well as lessons. This is a book to treat yourself with—and then share with sisters and friends.”–Columbia State
 “A Dollar Short, the follow-up to Bet Your Bottom Dollar, is a fine romp of a book, well written and thoroughly entertaining.”Winston Salem Journal
 “This laugh-out-loud tale serves up Southern-fried humor with a spicy “Steel Magnolia”-like kick….One would be hard-pressed to find any real flaws in this carefully crafted work that reads as if your best friend was giving you the low-down on the latest gossip.”–Savannah Morning News
“The characters are the kind of steel magnolias who would make Scarlett O’Hara envious.”    —Atlanta Journal-Constitution
“Laugh out loud . . . this perfect summer read [will] find permanent beachhouse residence.”        —Richmond Times-Dispatch
 “Brace for a wild ride chock-full of southern wit and down-home advice from a clutch of quirky characters you will hope to see again soon.”Booklist
 “Fun factor remains high from first chapter to last… The Bottom Dollar Girls…. provide the simple pleasure of an ice-cold bottle of cola and a bag of salty peanuts and that’s just fine.”–The Columbia State
 “Bless her heart, she’s done it againKarin Gillespie’s latest installment of the Bottom Dollar Girls series is a fun, breezy read. As tried and true as ham biscuits at a senior center potluck… the book reminds us of what’s important just as often as it entertains.— Durham Herald-Sun
 “Gillespie writes with such conviction that readers are thrust right into Cayboo Creek and the lives of the Bottom Dollar Girls. Readers will be chuckling over crazy man-getting antics, sighing at the complexity of life, love and matrimony and maybe even shedding a tear over the heartbreak and tragedy. This novel is charismatic and replete with poignancy, a story to pass on.”— Romantic Times, Four and a half stars 
 “Funny, fantastical novel...” ---Good Housekeeping


This book is a real charmer!  There is such richness in characters, plot and setting.  There is something in this book for everyone..humor, friendship, love and so much more.  I literally could not put this book down.  It was so engrossing, fun and well plotted.  A true gem of brilliant writing!

  



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...