Tuesday, May 3, 2011

THREE LITTLE WORDS by Ashley Rhodes-Courter

What do you think of when you think of HOME?  Do you think of your happy family, your warm house, your comfortable bed?  Well for Ashley Rhodes there was never a place she called HOME.  She spent 9 years of her life in foster care bouncing through 14 different foster homes.  Her memoir THREE LITTLE WORDS details her heartbreaking and amazing story.  As a social worker who worked in foster care this book broke my heart.  I was saddened to read the horrors that Ashley and so many other children endured while in out of home care.  I could not put this book down.  It touched me on so many levels.  I recommend THREE LITTLE WORDS to all of my followers.  THREE LITTLE WORDS is inspiring and captures the true definition of resiliency. 
Other Reviews:
"Ashley Rhodes-Courter is triumphant in her quest to overcome insurmountable odds. I celebrate her courage to seek out the best in humanity in spite of its failings." - Victoria Rowell, New York Times bestselling author of The Women Who Raised Me: A Memoir

"Nine years in the foster care system could ruin a kid. But [Ashley] not only survived, she's thrived." -Teen People

"The author's ability to form intelligent, open-minded conclusions about her traumatic childhood demonstrates her remarkable control and insight, and although there are plenty of wrenching moments, she succeeds not in attracting pity but in her stated intention, of drawing attention to the children who currently share the plight that she herself overcame." --Publishers Weekly

"Quiet scenes cut deepest: the author's description of her only after-school visit to a friend's home lingers heartbreakingly in one's mind. This gifted young writer's moving and eye-opening story will especially appeal to fans of Jeannette Walls's The Glass Castle and David Pelzer's autobiographical books." --School Library Journal

Three Little Words: A Memoir

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...