Monday, August 28, 2017

#MMBBR #Reviews #Highlights #RoundUp #EndOfTheMonth #FirstLine @StMartinsPress @sbkslandmark ‏@AmazonPub #GrandCentralPublishing


The last few weeks we have been enjoying family time before summer ends and school starts.  Even though I have not been posting daily, I am certainly reading daily!  So here are the books that I have enjoyed this month.  When the kids are back in school I will be able to maintain the daily posting.  

Melissa Pimentel delivers smart, funny, and modern retelling of Jane Austen's Persuasion, where a young woman comes face-to-face with a lost love, proving that the one that got away is sometimes the one you get back.
Ruby and Ethan were perfect for each other. Until the day they suddenly weren't.
Ten years later, Ruby's single, having spent the last decade focusing on her demanding career and hectic life in Manhattan. There's barely time for a trip to England for her little sister's wedding. And there's certainly not time to think about seeing Ethan there for the first time in years.
But as the family frantically prepare for the big day, Ruby can't help but wonder if she made the right choice all those years ago? Because there's nothing like a wedding for stirring up the past . . .

MY REVIEW:
#FirstLine ~ It was a Monday night.  

This book was an interesting twist on the book Persuasion.  I am not one of those readers that is a Jane Austen fangirl, but I do appreciate the writing, stories and characters.  Pimentel has done a great job taking the classic story and making it modern and applicable to today's time.  It was one of those books that slowly pulled me in and did not let go.  I found myself fully engaged in the story, genuinely wanting to know what was going to happen.  This book asks and explores the million dollar question:  What would have happened if I chose a different path?  

BUY THE BOOK:





A #1 international bestseller in the vein of Fredrik Bachman's A Man Called Ovean irresistible, funny, charming, and tender-hearted tale about friendship, love, and an old man who is young at heart.

"FUNNY AND FRANK...A STORY WITH A GREAT DEAL OF HEART."--Graeme Simsion, New York Times bestselling author of THE ROSIE PROJECT

Technically speaking, Hendrik Groen is....elderly. But at age 83 1/4, this feisty, indomitable curmudgeon has no plans to go out quietly. Bored of weak tea and potted geraniums, exasperated by the indignities of aging, Hendrik has decided to rebel--on his own terms. He begins writing an exposé: secretly recording the antics of day-to-day life in his retirement home, where he refuses to take himself, or his fellow "inmates," too seriously.

With an eccentric group of friends he founds the wickedly anarchic Old-But-Not-Dead Club--"Rule #3: No Whining Allowed"--and he and his best friend, Evert, gleefully stir up trouble, enraging the home's humorless director and turning themselves into unlikely heroes. And when a sweet and sassy widow moves in next door, he polishes his shoes, grooms what's left of his hair, and determines to savor every ounce of joy in the time he has left, with hilarious and tender consequences.

A bestselling phenomenon that has captured imaginations around the world, The Secret Diary of Hendrik Groen is inspiring, charming, and laugh-out-loud funny with a deep and poignant core: a page-turning delight for readers of any age.

MY REVIEW:
#FirstLine ~ Tuesday, January 1, 2013  Another year, and I still don't like old people.  

This is one of the BEST books I have ever read.  I adored it cover-to-cover.  I laughed, was moved and was inspired to live life to the fullest.  I was so into reading this diary and was up way too late...I nearly read it in a day.  I loved the friendship, honesty, shenanigans that were highlighted in this book.  There should be a warning though, that this book will both heal your heart and break it a the same time.  There is something very important in this book, the need to focus more money, time and care to the elderly.  There is no doubt that we are failing them in their final years.  This book could change your whole perspective on life...you will certainly not be the same after you read it.   

BUY THE BOOK:






Two missing girls. Thirteen years apart.Olivia Shaw has been missing since last Tuesday. She was last seen outside the entrance of her elementary school in Hunts Point wearing a white spring jacket, blue jeans, and pink boots.

I force myself to look at the face in the photo, into her slightly smudged features, and I can't bring myself to move. Olivia Shaw could be my mirror image, rewound to thirteen years ago.

If you have any knowledge of Olivia Shaw's whereabouts or any relevant information, please contact...

I've spent a long time peering into the faces of girls on missing posters, wondering which one replaced me in that basement. But they were never quite the right age, the right look, the right circumstances. Until Olivia Shaw, missing for one week tomorrow.

Whoever stole me was never found. But since I was taken, there hasn't been another girl.

And now there is.

MY REVIEW:
#FirstLine ~ The night is so bright it hurts her eyes.

Wow, just wow.  This book was a complete thrill.  I was never quite sure what was going to happen, which kept my heart pounding and the pages turning.  I could not help, but feel unsettled the whole time I was reading.  Laurin is a master at taking a relevant topic and transforming it into a story that is nail bitingly suspenseful.  This is a book that will stay with me for a long, long time.   

BUY THE BOOK:




"Harrigan's novel, part mystery and part coming-of-age, explores the process of healing from tragedies and misunderstandings."―Publishers Weekly
A tender, yet thrilling suspense novel about a young woman who uncovers devastating secrets that will resurrect the people she lost and the lies she buried – perfect for fans of Diane Chamberlain and Ellen Marie Wiseman
Ten years ago, Julie Portland accidentally killed her best friend, Reba. What's worse is she got away with it. Consumed by guilt, she left the small town of Lawrence Mill, Mississippi, and swore nothing would ever drag her back. Now, raising her daughter and struggling to make ends meet in Manhattan, Julie still can't forget the ghost of a girl with golden hair and a dangerous secret.
When August, Reba's first love, begs Julie to come home to find the diary that Reba kept all those years ago, Julie's past comes creeping back to haunt her. That diary could expose the shameful memories Julie has been running from, but it could also unearth the hidden truths that Reba left buried...and reveal that Julie isn't the only one who feels responsible for Reba's death.

MY REVIEW:
#FirstLine ~ She only has lovers in wintertime.

A book that was crafted so perfectly and allowed the reader to get deeply immersed into the time and place that was created by Harrigan.  You cannot help but be part of the story and part of the drama as present and past collide.  Written at a pace that keeps the reader turning pages The Secrets of Southern Girls is not to be missed. 

BUY THE BOOK:





MR. RIGHT-SWIPE
A Tale of #LeftSwipes, #NotMyTypes, and #Vodka

Rae Wallace would rather drown in a vat of pinot greezh and be eaten by her own beagle than make another trip down the aisle--even if it is her best friend's wedding. She's too busy molding the minds of first graders and polishing that ol' novel in the drawer to waste time on any man.

But when her best friends stage an intervention, Rae is forced to give in. After all, they've hatched a plan to help her find love the 21st century way: online. She's skeptical of this electronic chlamydia catcher, but she's out to prove she hasn't been too picky with men.

However, when a familiar fella's profile pops up--the dangerously hot substitute teacher from work--Rae swipes herself right into a new problem...

Sarcastic, irreverent, and uproariously funny--the painfully-true, so-insightful-it-hurts kind of funny--Ricki Schultz's wry debut will speak to fans of Bridesmaids or Trainwreck, and to anyone who's ever been on a bad date.

#FirstLine ~ I shoot back the tequila, and it's smooth.

BUY THE BOOK:






THE WARDROBE MISTRESS is Meghan Masterson's fascinating and visceral debut, an inside look at Marie Antoinette's luxurious life in Versailles remarkably juxtaposed against life in third estate as the French Revolution gains strength. A propulsive exploration of love, loyalty, danger, and intrigue...not to be missed.
It's Giselle Aubry's first time at court in Versailles. At sixteen, she is one of Marie Antoinette's newest undertirewomen, and in awe of the glamorous queen and her opulent palace life. A budding designer, it's a dream come true to work with the beautiful fabrics and jewels in the queen's wardrobe. But every few weeks she returns home to visit her family in Paris where rumors of revolution are growing stronger.
From her position working in the royal household, Giselle is poised to see both sides of the revolutionary tensions erupting throughout Paris. When her uncle, a retired member of the secret du roi, a spy ring that worked for the old King, Louis XV, suggests that she casually report the Queen’s actions back to him as a game, she leaps at the chance. Spying seems like an adventure and an exciting way to privately support the revolution taking the countryside by storm. She also enjoys using her insight from Versailles in lively debates with Léon Gauvain, the handsome and idealistic revolutionary who courts her.
But as the uprising continues to gain momentum, and Giselle grows closer to the Queen, becoming one of the few trusted servants, she finds herself dangerously torn. Violence is escalating; she must choose where her loyalty truly lies, or risk losing everything...maybe even her head.

#FirstLine ~ No one looks regal or elegant in their underclothes on a cold February morning, no matter how much lace or satin trims the garment, and the queen is no exception.

BUY THE BOOK:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...