Wednesday, February 3, 2016

#MMBBR #Showcase Minor by Meghan McDonnell


Minor is the first installment of the personal journals in which, for over 20 years, writer Meghan McDonnell has chronicled her life beginning at age eight through present day. With searing candor and tenderness, her musings on daily life and observations of family, social and romantic relationships coalesce in a commentary on growing up, facing down passion and fear, and American life in the 21st century. Wide in scope and vivid in detail, her journals are her confessional love letter to the world. Join her on a fearless, vulnerable, sometimes painful and quixotic, but always honest journey, also known as the human experience. Readers who love Cheryl Strayed or Karl Ove Knausgaard will enjoy this author. 

Volume one spans her eighth year through age 17; reflections on family, friendship, education, a stint at survival camp and coming of age. 

Meghan McDonnell

Meghan McDonnell lives in Walla Walla with the man she loves. When she's not writing or reading, she spends time outdoors, solves crossword puzzles, and pretends to garden.



Q.  What inspires your writing?
A. People, my need to process what I experience in my relationships and in myself

Q.  What is your favorite thing about being a writer?
A. The unbounded nature of it. I can go anywhere. It is freedom. Georgia O'Keefe said "Whether you succeed or not is irrelevant, there is no such thing. Making your unknown known is the important thing."

Q.  What is the toughest part of being a writer?
A. Having to work and do all those things that are not writing.

Q.  If you could not be writer, what would you do/be?
A. That is not an option.

Q.  What would the story of your life be entitled?
A. A Wild Mind

Q.  What is your favorite book of all time?
A. Crime and Punishment

Q.  Which character from ANY book are you most like?
A. A blend of Scout Finch, Hester Prynne and Marjorie Morningstar

Q.  What character from all of your book are you most like?
A. Myself. It's all autobiographical. Although, sometimes I feel more like my sister than me in real life.

Q.  Which book would you love to take a weekend vacation inside of?
A. I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith

Q.  What is your favorite season?
A. Autumn

Q.  What inspired your book cover(s)?  Or what is your favorite book cover and why?
A. For my covers I chose birds because I love the symbolism of them, specifically swallows. They represent communication, grace, flowing thoughts, and ideals - all things I hope my writing embodies.

Q.  Tell me something funny that happened while on a book tour or while promoting your book.
A. I've sent a few emails out addressed to no one (e.g. "Dear -") and poorly formatted. I hit send before I meant to. That's never fun.

Q.  Are you working on something new?
A. I have just published the first three volumes in an ongoing series of my journals and I have about 20 more on deck to be transcribed, edited, and published; so, yes.

Q.  Anything you want to say to followers of this blog or those that are just stopping by?
A.  Hello, fellow book lovers. I'm happy to be part of this tribe.




Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...